Town Of Hempstead's Bravest Honored For Outstanding Service At Annual Firematic Awards

Hempstead Town Supervisor Kate Murray and the Town Board honored local volunteer firefighters at a special ceremony held on October 20th. Twenty-four individuals were honored with Town of Hempstead Firematic Awards for their courage and dedication to protecting local communities.

"We are proud to honor this group of firefighters and emergency medical technicians for outstanding service to their departments and to the communities they serve," Murray said. "These first responders make significant sacrifices, and volunteer their personal time to protect the safety of their neighbors."

Some of this year's recipients were honored for heroic rescues and courageous deeds performed during the normal course of their day. Others were saluted for decades of service and the continued dedication to their departments and their communities.

"Day and night, firefighters and EMT's are ready and willing to answer the call," Murray said. "Their bravery and volunteerism help make our communities safe and pleasant places to call home."

The following individuals were awarded the town's firematic medal for their distinguished service as members of the volunteer fire service community:

Bethpage Fire Department: Firefighter/EMT Corey Fisher
East Meadow Fire Department: Ex-Chief Dominick Santoro
East Rockaway Fire Department: Ex-Chief Lawrence Schaefer
Elmont Fire Department: Honorary Chief Vincent Focazio, Sr.
Freeport Fire Department: Ex-Captain Raymond Ryan
Garden City Fire Department: Captain Thomas Strysko
Hempstead Fire Department: Firefighter Connor Geraghty, Firefighter Kevin Rugg, Firefighter Matt Taylor
Island Park Fire Department: Firefighter John Segreto, Firefighter Frank Tammaro
Lakeview Fire Department: Ex-Chief Michael Joyce
Lawrence-Cedarhurst Fire Dept.: Lieutenant Robert Jakubowski
Levittown Fire Department: Ex-Captain Chris Tuohy, Firemedic Lionel Roseval
Lynbrook Fire Department: Firefighter Michael Kenny
Mineola Fire Department: 1st Assistant Chief Jeffrey M. Clark
New Hyde Park Fire Department: EMT Meagan Lucas
Rockville Centre Fire Department: Ex-Captain Peter Kaiser
Valley Stream Fire Department: Ex-Captain Eugene O'Brien II
West Hempstead Fire Department: 1st Assistant Chief Jason LaCombe
Woodmere Fire Department: Assistant Chief Leonard Cherson, EMT Jay Goldmark, Firefighter Adam Slotnick

"Volunteer firefighters are indeed heroes in our communities and the Town of Hempstead is extremely grateful to each and every member of the local fire departments," said Murray. "It's a pleasure to have this opportunity to recognize Hempstead Town's bravest."